View Single Post
Old 01-12-2012, 05:10 AM
All Nighter
New Hire

Joined APC: Jul 2011
Position: MD80

Global,

Referencing our discussion awhile back where you asked how I had knowledge that TWA's 3rd and final BK was contrived to grease the path for AA.

Sorry for the delay in posting this. It took me a while to get permission from the author. Then life intruded. Sorry for the formatting, but I'm a pilot not a computer geek.

July 26, 2011
Captain Lee Moak, President
Air Line Pilots Association, International
1625 Massachusetts Ave NW #800
Washington D.C., DC 20036-2242
Certified Mail – Return Receipt Requested
Dear Captain Moak,
This is the second time since my retirement from TWA that I am compelled to write to the president of the Air Line
Pilots Association. The first, in 2007, was to correct misinformation that Captain Prater was disseminating about
the lawsuit that the TWA pilots had filed against ALPA. This one is intended to correct misinformation that ALPA
continues to distribute – especially in light of the JetBlue pilot organizing effort.
At the conclusion of the TWA Pilots’ lawsuit and a jury verdict of guilty, ALPA published a “FastRead” which stated
the following:
“Update on Brady vs. ALPA litigation
The Air Line Pilots Association, Int'I, will pursue all available legal remedies to overturn yesterday's jury
decision in the Brady VS. ALPA case arising from American Airlines' acquisition of Trans World Airlines
more than ten years ago. We believe that there are still major issues to be decided in court, including
whether the jury verdict can stand under the facts and the law.
The basic claim in the case, made by some Trans World Airlines' pilots, has been that the Air Line Pilots
Association, Int'I, violated its representation duty during the period that Trans World Airlines was threatened
with liquidation and American was proposing to buy its assets. The Air Line Pilots Association, Int'l,