View Single Post
Old 07-26-2006, 12:56 PM
CWU1919
Line Holder

Joined APC: Mar 2006

I'm a young pilot, now 19 and I would love to share my two cents. While teenagers love video games and computer games as ironic as this is, i fell in love with flying through a computer game. Now I have a PPL and decided I love flying enough to come hundreds of miles up to a college far away from my family and my lifestyle and have decided to take a risk of pursuing my dream of making it in the industry and using college as a way to network and continue flying. But other kids my age have different hobbies. With the Xbox360 out and other systems coming, it's so much easier to hand over a few twenties for that new shooter game or the new madden nfl game and invite your buddies over along with a bunch of 6 packs of bud light and get drunk, smoke, and play video games. I guess the bottomline from what I have seen is that many kids my age actually do think the concept of flying is neat, but in the end very few are willing to dedicate the time, the enormous costs, and the commitment at such a young age.