Notices
Pilot Health FAA medical; health topics

1st class medical

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2018, 05:34 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: May 2018
Unhappy 1st class medical

I know this question has been somewhat answered so I apologize in advance for asking again. (This is my first time forum posting so stick with me) so I just got out of the Army and I’m thinking of pursuing A career as an Airline Pilot. However, I wear glasses (thick ones :,(...) and my left eye is only correctable to about 20/30. I do have both eyes corrected to 20/20 but like I said, my left eye isn’t. Should I even apply for a university flight school, would the jobs even come if I was able to get all my ratings. Lastly, when I go to get my physical do I just ask the AME for a waiver? The schools websites only say 1st class medical exam required. It doesn’t say anything about waivers or what ever... should I even try to pursue this or just cut my losses.
Old 05-11-2018, 05:56 PM
Line Holder

Originally Posted by Labyer View Post
I know this question has been somewhat answered so I apologize in advance for asking again. (This is my first time forum posting so stick with me) so I just got out of the Army and I’m thinking of pursuing A career as an Airline Pilot. However, I wear glasses (thick ones :,(...) and my left eye is only correctable to about 20/30. I do have both eyes corrected to 20/20 but like I said, my left eye isn’t. Should I even apply for a university flight school, would the jobs even come if I was able to get all my ratings. Lastly, when I go to get my physical do I just ask the AME for a waiver? The schools websites only say 1st class medical exam required. It doesn’t say anything about waivers or what ever... should I even try to pursue this or just cut my losses.