Notices
SkyWest Regional Airline

ORD for a commuter

Old 07-27-2018, 10:05 AM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Jul 2018
Default ORD for a commuter

I have the CJO with OO and was given the 175. Hoping for ORD fairly quickly out of training but I know LGA has been the case for most. After reserve, how commutable will the trips out of ORD be on the 175 while still being fairly junior? I'm looking at a 30 min drive to my local airport with 4 flights a day on OO birds (200).

Also considering RAH, however that would be a 2 hour drive to a commute until my wife and I can move (family circumstances). Obviously their QOL is better with trip efficiency, no junior manning, and I hear their commuter clause adds to that as well, but since OO doesn't have a commuter clause does really cause issues for people?
Old 07-27-2018, 04:11 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Jul 2016

I’ve been commuting SEA-ORD for 3 months with no issues. Most of my trips are commutable on both ends.
Old 07-28-2018, 01:08 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2014

I’m pretty junior and next month all my trips are commutable sans one on the back end.
Old 07-29-2018, 05:19 AM
On Reserve

Have either of you ever missed the commute? What’s the process for that without a commute clause? Could either one of you pm me a picture or description of your trips with start and end times and legs a day etc?
Old 07-29-2018, 06:13 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2007
Position: I pilot

If you can’t make the commute, you just call the company. They assign your trip to a reserve. If you can rejoin the trip then you get back on the trip and they charge you user time for the part that you missed. User time is basically sick time. If a line holder picks up your trip then you can’t rejoin the trip. If you call out with less than a 2 hour notice for your trip, then they could put a note on your schedule. Too many call outs and you will get called in to the chief pilot’s office.
Old 07-29-2018, 06:42 AM
Gets Weekends Off