Notices
Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

135 test requirements and phone avail

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2019, 07:51 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2015
Default 135 test requirements and phone avail

I am relatively new to 135 and would like to clarify a few regs . 135 duty day as it relates to “phone availablity”.... when does ur legal duty begin; when u get the call to fly or when ur required to answer your phone? If anyone has insight to this please let me know because I am used to 121 regs and those are way different that 135.... 135, NONSCHEDULED” By the way....
Old 02-03-2019, 07:59 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jul 2013

Originally Posted by Whatmeworry View Post
I am relatively new to 135 and would like to clarify a few regs . 135 duty day as it relates to “phone availablity”.... when does ur legal duty begin; when u get the call to fly or when ur required to answer your phone? If anyone has insight to this please let me know because I am used to 121 regs and those are way different that 135.... 135, NONSCHEDULED” By the way....
Duty time has to be proactively designated. You are told when you are on and off duty. Once you are off duty you are legally free from all company activities. Duty times cannot be changed after the fact. It’s actually no different than 121, except 135 crews tend to sit around on duty without flying more. Duty is duty, rest is rest; no matter if you work for 121 or 135, scheduled or unscheduled.
Old 02-03-2019, 09:49 PM
Disinterested Third Party

Joined APC: Jun 2012

The 135 world has played loose with the regulation for a long time. Unless you're free of all duty and have no responsibility to act for the company, then you're not at rest. It's possible to be off duty, but not at rest. Rest must be free of all duty and determined in advance.