Go Back  Airline Pilot Central Forums > Career Builder > Career Questions
ATC Considering Making the Switch >

ATC Considering Making the Switch

Notices
Career Questions Career advice, interview prep and gouges, job fairs, etc.

ATC Considering Making the Switch

Old 05-14-2019, 02:52 PM
New Hire

Joined APC: May 2019
Default ATC Considering Making the Switch

Hello all,
Since about three years old being a pilot has been my dream. I Got my PPL and Instrument almost 8 years ago, and was on track to start my commercial, and, to make a long story short, I saw the state of the airline industry, a lot of discontented pilots, and I ended up as an air traffic controller. I’ve been doing that for almost eight years at three different facilities and I’m feeling burnt out. There are so many pros to this job—being home (almost) every night, good pay, retirement, government security (save for a furlough here and there)...but I can’t see myself doing it for another 25 years. I’m 32 now in CA. I’d essentially have to start over since it’s been so long since I’ve flown. Taking a huge pay cut and investing a lot of money into this is honestly daunting, as is the thought of instructing, time building, as well as the whole career change thing. I’ve heard of pilots doing the switch to atc, but not as much the other way.

I think about flying every day, but the sentiment that follows is usually “the grass is not always greener!” I always think about an AA pilot I knew from years back who told me I made the right choice in not trying to come the airlines...this was when the economy was really in the sewer, though.

Anyone on here who’s made the switch, or care to give any perspective?
Old 05-14-2019, 03:05 PM
Banned

Joined APC: Jul 2017

Are you a Center controller or something else?
Old 05-14-2019, 03:10 PM
New Hire

Originally Posted by 123494 View Post
Are you a Center controller or something else?
Currently at a large TRACON.
Old 05-14-2019, 03:56 PM
Prime Minister/Moderator