Go Back  Airline Pilot Central Forums > Pilot Lounge > Leaving the Career
One less pilot around ! and looking for fellow pilot Wisdom. >

One less pilot around ! and looking for fellow pilot Wisdom.

Search
Notices
Leaving the Career Alternative careers for pilots

One less pilot around ! and looking for fellow pilot Wisdom.

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 06:30 PM
Line Holder

Joined APC: May 2006
Position: EMB 120 FO
Lightbulb One less pilot around ! and looking for fellow pilot Wisdom.

Hello everyone

I have been a regional pilot for about two years, and 5 years as a flight instructor before that. Obviously not your long hauler 30 year captain by any means. But these two years were long enough to make me realize that in this profession, there are a lot of sacrifices to face, not just the sacrifices we make as pilots, but our families and loved ones too. These two years made me learn that this job wasn’t me. As of yesterday I am out of my pilot job and on the streets ready to listen to any good advice. I know there is a lot of wisdom and good ideas among fellow pilots.

I am asking for any kind of advice ranging from easy to transition jobs to go to, comments, critics anything. Or anything that you would like to say to somebody leaving the Airline industry like me. It has been a fun journey and one that I needed to make, to realize what is important for me. Thank you all in advance for your honest thoughts.
Old 08-06-2008, 06:37 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jul 2007
Position: 744 CA

Professional aviation is a lifestyle.... it certainly transcends your normal job. It is NOT for everyone....
Old 08-06-2008, 07:42 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Feb 2008
Position: Capt. Falcon 50EX

Try and find a good corporate gig. I found one and I have no plans on going back to American. With the way things are in the Airline industry, The grass is pretty green over here.

Good Luck
Old 08-06-2008, 08:16 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2006
Position: 767A (Ret)