Notices
Foreign Airlines that hire U.S. pilots

Air India or Jet Air

Old 08-20-2008, 07:44 AM
New Hire

Joined APC: Apr 2008
Default Air India or Jet Air

Any thoughts on the pros and cons of working for Air India vs Jet Air? I'm looking at the Titan Aviation contract agency for Jet Air and possibly Next-Gen for Air India. I'm a first time contractor, and could use some insight!
Old 08-22-2008, 06:04 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jan 2008
Position: EMB-170 FO

What do you want to know? My brother in law works as the Chief Medical Officer for an airline (GoAir Airways) in India - I can ask him.

From what I know, Air India is a govt. company and Jet Airways is privately owned. My dad worked for Air India for 30+ years until he retired. I'd go with Jet Airways over Air India any day.
Old 08-22-2008, 01:59 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2006
Position: Contract purgatory

A good friend just left Air India as he was not in the least impressed. Might have been pertly due to the contract agency, but it sounded like the operation was not so great.

There are a number of my former employers B777 pilots at Jet Airways, and I flew with some of their guy's when they did training with us. Apparently it is a pretty good gig; night and day to AI.
Old 08-23-2008, 12:13 AM
New Hire

Joined APC: Aug 2008

I suggest you apply directly to Jet Airways. They do not require the use of a contactor.

For Air India stay away from Next Gen. and Rishworth. I found the contract from Sigmar to be reasonable with no penalties for termination.
Old 08-26-2008, 12:34 AM
On Reserve

Position: B737-900 Captain
Default Don't Go With Air India!