Hiring News Latest news and rumors

4Star Air Cargo hiring Q

Old 05-27-2009, 02:23 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2006
Position: Lovin' life at .4 (ish) mach
Default 4Star Air Cargo hiring Q

I was looking at their website, and they are hiring, but this is what it says:
"SICs & PICs – Any pilots with 500 hours type rated in DC-3, interested in living in paradise." I'm a little confused, is it 500TT or 500 DC-3 time for SIC? I'm a low time pilot and would like to fly for them, but dont have a DC-3 type. I have the cash available to get my type if it's reasonable to be employed.
If I do not get the job, are there any DC-3 operators out there that hire low time pilots? I'd like to have the type and get active in some DC-3 flying, as I need to fly something with a radial engine on it.
Old 05-27-2009, 04:28 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2008

nevermind...............
Old 05-27-2009, 04:55 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: May 2006
Position: DA50EX

Weren't the pilots striking there a while back. How did that turn out for them.
Old 05-28-2009, 07:06 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2007

They actually are not hiring right now - even though it says they are. Just called - Very nice people to talk to.
Old 05-30-2009, 10:05 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Apr 2008

4 Star is Furloughing, although I'm not sure if its a furlough or a lay-off.

I have a friend who did that SIC stuff for them and was cut around January. He said Puerto Rico is awesome, but he wouldn't work for 4-star again, even if someone put a gun to his head.

Look elsewhere for Caribbean jobs. Roblex, Air Flamenco are two places to start. However, they are not hiring from what I understand.
Old 06-01-2009, 10:15 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2009

I feel u on the radial thing. Move to alaska, bring a sleeping bag(artic) apply at evretsair and sleep there till they hire u
Old 06-05-2009, 05:42 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Mar 2008

Originally Posted by Gchamp3 View Post