Notices
Fractional NetJets, FlexJet, etc

Crew rules

Old 10-21-2009, 08:15 PM
New Hire

Joined APC: Oct 2009
Default Crew rules

Hello, all
Newbie question here. Does anybody know if the 10-in-24 crew rule is enforced in practice? (The rule says in any consecutive 24 hours, the flight time can't be more than 10 hours, in the case of fractional program). Thanks in advance.
Old 10-22-2009, 06:50 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2005
Position: CL650

I'm not sure I follow.... are you asking if we obey the law or break it on a regular basis??
Old 10-22-2009, 10:25 AM
New Hire

Sorry, I didn't say it more precisely. Actually I'm a student in a graduate school, and the research we are doing now involving crew scheduling for a fractional program. I was wondering what you guys (pilots) think about your current schedules (pros and cons). Since you are in the real business world, your opinions are important and greatly appreciated, and may help us to improve !
Old 10-23-2009, 07:08 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2008
Position: B737 CA

yes, the rule is enforced and applied. There have been more than a couple of times I have had to delay the first flights of the day due to 10/24
Old 10-23-2009, 09:03 AM
New Hire

Originally Posted by Triggs View Post
yes, the rule is enforced and applied. There have been more than a couple of times I have had to delay the first flights of the day due to 10/24
Thanks,
Old 10-23-2009, 12:26 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2005
Position: CL650

Okay, I see.

Calling it a "rule" in your post seemed to suggest 10-in-24 was some sort of "optional" scheduling system that we have the choice to "practice" or not.

I'm sure you are aware it is in fact a Federal Law (FAR 91.1059 for "91K fractional operations" and FAR 135.267 for "on-demad jet-card flights") -- failure to honor it or abide by it in "practice" is illegal.

Hopefully you can appreciate my confusion on how you worded the question initially.