Notices
Flight Schools and Training Ratings, building hours, airmanship, CFI topics

On final Approach for Landing

Old 01-20-2010, 05:38 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Apr 2009
Default On final Approach for Landing

Hello Everyone,
I am really sorry if I am posting this in the wrong section. Please forgive me if i do. I am a student pilot working on my presolo, I have about 60 Hrs and have not solo yet. I am have serious problems on short final to flare. Some of the problems that I am having are: flaring too high and ballooning after touching down. I have not mastered the pitch and power on final approach. Can anyone give me advise on how to solve this problem that I am having? This program is costing me a lot and i always wanted to become a pilot and I don't want to see my dream go down the drain. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

toney.
Old 01-20-2010, 05:56 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jan 2009

"I have about 60 Hrs and have not solo yet."

I would try a different CFI. If you still have trouble, I'd have to tell you not everyone is able to excel at the skill set necessary to be a pilot. If you are going to consistently need extra training this far above the norm, then you simply would be better off doing something else.

The flare problem is simply judgment. You have to do it over and over until you see the sight picture necessary as to when to start your flare. I'd have your CFI do one landing, and you do the next, so can see how it's done properly. If your CFI is trying to talk you through 10 landings in a row during a lesson, and now you have 60 hours and haven't soloed, then he/she needs to try something different.