Notices
Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Job dilemma

Old 05-09-2011, 12:15 PM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Feb 2010
Default Job dilemma

Hey everybody, I'm curious what you think.
I've been working for my current employer for 8 months and have been enjoying my job and schedule, but recent upgrade issues have come I to play. I was hired as a low time, project pilot (2800 TT, 400 multi, 325 multi turbine) to fly Cheyenne 2's and 3's part 135. We also operate 2 PC-12's, a Citation Excel and a Citation V. I was hired on the stipulation when I get to 500 multi I get a raise and become eligible for upgrades. In my second month with the company I experienced a catastrophic engine failure in the company's 210 on a 135 flight with 3 pax, and made a successful off-airport landing with no injuries or damage. After paperwork was filed and a phone interview with the FAA it was ruled as neither and accident nor and incident. Since then my DO has been treating me with less and less respect and 2 pilots have been hired into the Cheyennes who now hold seniority over me. I have been assured that my job is not in jeopardy, but I am flying less and less (one trip last week, none this week). I am concerned that my DO is no longer considering me for upgrades, and I'm thinking that it might be time to move on.
What do you think? Should I stick it out and see what happens or should I look elsewhere? What opportunities are there for a guy with my time other than freight (been there, done that)?
Thanks for your input.
Old 05-09-2011, 03:40 PM
A Second Past V1

Joined APC: Feb 2007
Position: Assumed

Toss a couple of resumes out to those who are looking for pilots. Besides that, look at your job versus your QOL...if there is what you deem to be an issue, then it is time for a change.

Should you get offered another job, that gives you something to go to bat with against your DO. If they cant compete, then it is time to move on.
Old 05-09-2011, 03:42 PM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Jan 2010