Notices
Pilot Health FAA medical; health topics

Deaf in one ear -

Old 07-18-2014, 07:51 PM
New Hire

Joined APC: Jul 2014
Default Deaf in one ear -

If I am profoundly deaf in one ear, namely, my left ear, do I still have a shot at becoming an airline pilot? This question has been on my mind since the day I've gotten myself involved within the aviation community. By the way, I'm new to Airline Pilot Central Forums. Thank for your future assistance.
Old 07-18-2014, 08:08 PM
Banned

Joined APC: Nov 2013
Position: 7th green

Originally Posted by Mike 75 View Post
If I am profoundly deaf in one ear, namely, my left ear, do I still have a shot at becoming an airline pilot? This question has been on my mind since the day I've gotten myself involved within the aviation community. By the way, I'm new to Airline Pilot Central Forums. Thank for your future assistance.
Except for the military I have never had my hearing tested for a first class medical.
Old 07-18-2014, 10:58 PM
Banned

Joined APC: Oct 2008
Position: Window Seat

Originally Posted by Packrat View Post
Except for the military I have never had my hearing tested for a first class medical.
You're supposed to get it tested according to 67.105(a). A cursory reading suggests that one ear is sufficient so long as the test is conducted in accordance with 67.105(a)(2). Hopefully an AME can provide more details.

In my practical experience I've always been tested with the method in 67.105(a)(1) aka. "Can you hear me now?... Good".
Old 07-19-2014, 01:30 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2009
Position: Ask scheduling

I am 100% deaf in my left ear. I have been an airline pilot for the past 7 years. Regional and major. As long as you can "carry on a conversation in a normal tone", you're good to go. You can't be a truck driver, but you can be an airline Captain.
Old 07-19-2014, 05:16 AM
New Hire

Wow! That is a good sign. I honestly thought the airline's hearing standards would disqualify me on the spot.