Southwest new pay rates >

Southwest new pay rates

Notices

Southwest new pay rates

Old 09-13-2015, 12:06 AM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Jun 2014
Default Southwest new pay rates

Anyone know what the new pay rates in the southwest ta are? I know they use a trip pay system but there is an equation to compare with hourly payrates.

I think our narrow body rates should be higher than theirs. Our narrow body guys have the hardest schedule of all majors.
Old 09-13-2015, 06:59 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Apr 2006
Position: MD-11 Captain

11man,

I'm no Southwest expert but I've had the opportunity to jumpseat with them several times (thanks guys!).

It seems to me that this SWA "Trip Pay" system evolved out of their early days when they only flew from DAL to HOU (I think?). A flight ("trip" either way) was 50 mins and so they get paid in 50 minute "trip" intervals. Example: a 3hr flight from XXX to YYY equals 180 minutes and pays 3.6 "trips"?

IIRC, the last time I flew with them (years ago) the f/o told he was making $50/trip. $50 for 50 minutes sounds a lot like $60/hr. to me but that's not how they do things. It looks like they work hard to me. I always thought I'd like working there.

All that said, the SWA page here on APC shows their pay per hour? Did APC convert it to a standard format or has the airline changed their pay to an hourly scale?

http://www.airlinepilotcentral.com/a...hwest_airlines

I'm sure a SWA person will pipe in with the details. Maybe you'd have better luck if this wasn't posted in the (FedEx TA) CARGO section?

MM

Last edited by MaydayMark; 09-13-2015 at 07:17 AM.
Old 09-13-2015, 07:17 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Apr 2013
Default Southwest new pay rates

They aren't changing our trips for pay system. Apc converts it.
Our SWAPA BOD is voting on the TA this week and the line swine haven't seen it.
Rumor is a 7 percent increase off the bat and then 3/3/3 or somewhere thereabouts.