View Single Post
Old 04-22-2007, 01:55 PM
Dan64456
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Apr 2007
Question Considering pursuing flying career...

Hello everyone first let me start off by introducing myself... My name is Dan, I live in the Philadelphia Area (born and raised); currently work as an IT guy for a real estate company... I am 22 years old.

Now I know that there probably have been plenty of posts with people asking the same kind of questions that I am about to (Given my situation, would you do this? Etc...) But I did manage to read some of them already... Well here is my situation. I have my Associates degree in IT and have been working in the field for 2 years now... I make ok money for a guy my age, but certainly not a lot... My current job is the best one I have had to date, but I still feel some kind of void in my heart. I've learned a lot about the corporate world in my recent experiences in the field, and don't really like most of what I learned. Most people are hoity toity's always trying to one up each other and most are back stabbers, etc... Most of the execs are straight up liars and will do whatever it takes to get more money in their pocket... And a lot of people are way too sensitive with certain topics and I doubt that they really are that way in real life... They just act it to play into the corporate game. The politics are overwhelming and I feel like I am back in high school again sometimes... Of course there are positive aspects of the job, but I feel that these need to be pointed out because they outweigh most of the good about it... Long story short, I no longer want to spend 40 hours a week of my life under fluorescent lights worrying about the most trivial things and being complained to and about from people who have no idea about anything outside of their narrow view point. They complain, point the finger and things like that hoping that their problems will get solved faster, and it’s just amazing how some people can make so much money and