Old 03-13-2006, 12:05 PM
thedude113

Default Requesting advice from the majors to a Navy guy

Gents-

Please kick this post to another forum if I have done this wrong. I am looking for advice from the civilian side of aviation.

I am a LCDR FA-18 pilot currently deployed on the Reagan and doing operations in the gulf. I love flying to no end. I enjoy flying around the boat and I love flying fighters. Getting more senior, though, means more ground responsibilities and less flight time. This will be especially true for my last 4 years in the Navy if I stay in.

My plan all along was to do my minimum commitment (11 years), enjoy the time, get into the airlines afterwards and fly in the reserves. 3 years ago (Oct 2003), I took a bonus that committed me until May 2007 to buy some more time for the airlines to sort themselves out. Now I am coming up on a year out and I need to let the Navy know what my plans are.

My last three friends to get out got hired by FedEx, SWA, and JetBlue (one each). I would hope that I could land a job with one of them, but I am not counting on anything for certain anymore these days. I will be able to get out with 2800 TT, 2200PIC, 2200jet. I would join the land of the free, or at least free from ground jobs in the Navy.

My alternative is to stay in 6 more years to make 20. That would involve a 3 year shore duty that should be fun flying, followed by 2 year painful sea tour (probably not flying) and a year shore with a 50/50 shot of flying.

Questions:
1. Is the job security and retirement worth staying in the last 6 years?
2. Does anyone think the majors will even be hiring in 6 years?
3. Am I giving up too much seniority by not getting out right away?
4. Am I crazy to get out or am I crazy to stay in, or am I just crazy?

I had my mind made up to get out until this week, when several people (some airline pilots) have been telling my wife that I would be stupid to get out. It’s been enough to cause me to waiver on my decision.