View Single Post
Old 08-18-2017, 03:11 PM
snackysmores
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jan 2014
Position: fatigued

Originally Posted by NomNomNom View Post
I'm an Army Rotary Wing pilot that's about to retire with all my fixed wing certifications in the next few months, and I have a few questions I'm hoping you guys can answer.

I currently live in Seattle, QOL and progression out of the regionals are my main consideration areas when considering regional airlines.

If you were to pick today, would you still pick Horizon or would you consider another airline? Wholly owned with a flow and a bonus?

Would you pick the Q400 or E175 and why?

What flight benefits do you get as a new FO with Horizon, and are you actually able to use them? I've read that the flights are so booked up with Horizon and Alaska that it's hard to get on a flight being on standby.

What's the QOL like while on trips? (Hotels, time between flights, etc.)

I have used the search function and hoping for some productive feedback to help me out. I never thought it would be this hard to pick a regional and any information from people already doing the daily grind will help immensely.
Got a wife/kids? Willing to commute? Do you want to upgrade fast or be comfortable? The words QOL and Progression don't really mesh well together. Take for instance Piedmont: fairly quick upgrade, flow to AA, positive growth etc. However you would be commuting to Philly and doing horrible 4 day trips with min days off. What's it worth to you?