Old 02-13-2020, 07:01 AM
35Right
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jul 2013

Originally Posted by andreiblanaru View Post
Hello everybody,

As this is my first post, it's nice to meet you all

My name is Andrei, and I am a Product Manager for a learning solution dedicated to the aviation sector.
I've found this forum while doing research for a product I am helping my company bring to market.

In my initial research I saw that there is a shortage of pilots on the market and an even bigger one coming in the next few years. As I understand, the barrier to entry is very high, along with the ageing existing workforce and the introduction of new air planes to meet CO2 emissions and new technologies being adopted.

I am not looking to promote my product here or anything like that, I would like to get an expert opinion on the subject and was wondering if any of you where willing to answer a few questions that would help me develop a better product and hopefully solve part of the problem on the way.

I'm looking to find out how did you get start onto this career path and beyond:

- What steps did you take to research and apply for training or a flight school?
I just went to the nearest school to where I lived, which happened to be a University Part 141 program.

- How did you manage to build up flight time?
Flight Instruction

- Where did you get your Rating from?
University 141 program issued the certificates and ratings

- Did you apply for any funding?
I used the GI Bill and self-funding. Earned a scholarship that paid for my CFI certificate.

- How do you go about renewing and re-validating your certificates and ratings?
They don't expire.

- What do you wish you could do online that you can’t do today?
There isn't anything I can think of that could be done online, that isn't already available online in some format.

- If courses were available online would you buy them?