View Single Post
Old 03-28-2020, 07:04 PM
hindsight2020
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Oct 2006
Position: Center seat, doing loops to music

Originally Posted by LJ4Life View Post
I'm in a bit of a weird spot. I've been flying for one of the legacy carriers for the past 4 years. I'm sure some think I'm overreacting, but I believe that if this situation doesn't get resolved quickly then I'll be looking for another job come 1 Oct. My thinking was that if I did get furloughed then I could try to find a spot that I could just do my 4.5 years to have a guaranteed pension and then go back to the airlines if I'm still interested in that life. AGR spots are definitely hard to come by, and I just don't see that in the cards. I've got young kids, so being at home for the next 5 years would be a big win. I just assumed that volunteering for UAS would get me the time at home, and hopefully a decent location.
Nah, that's not really a weird spot. You got out and with 14 AD went and tried your lot at the airlines + TR guard job. Dime a dozen story.

There's nothing wrong with your plan. My only question is have you lived in the SW border? I did 7.5 years there, and that was a very trying time for my family. What is a "decent" location mean to you? Only you can answer that for your family and their circumstances.

Honestly, an ART job would be right up your alley, if such a thing was available to you either by transferring to AFRC, or whatever the Guard calls their GS/TR dual status full time people. The other benefit to ARTs is they tend not to deploy with their units as much, as they're considered the admin backbone of the squadron. Not to say local leadership doesn't goad their full timers to buy into the AD-Lite nonsense, but in general it's much more difficult to make an ART go. And they're certainly not gonna deploy you in civilian status (too much $$$). Something to consider.