View Single Post
Old 09-13-2022, 11:31 AM
Alpine Pilot
Line Holder

Joined APC: Sep 2021
Position: B1900 Captain

Originally Posted by Nathanio View Post
Alpine Pilot,

Thanks for all of the info. I am currently a flight instructor with 1000TT currently working on my multi add-on and should have complete in a month. I am interested in moving to Denver and joining Alpine Air. I believe I will meet all of the requirements in a couple of months time.
I am curious if your PIC hires typically have more multi/turbine experience or if it is not unusual to hire someone with primarily single-engine piston time into a PIC role?
Thanks in advance and looking forward to putting my application in!
This is probably to late to help you, but the answer will probably help others.

Me and my instructors have trained several pilots with no turbine experience at all. We have also trained pilots from the military and pilots with flight time that totals over 10,000 hours. For the BE99 you just need a Multi-Engine, no minimum hours, and for the 1900 you need 100 hrs ME. Since taking over as the 1900 training manager I've adjusted the training program specifically to help get the guys we hire with the bare minimums get through our training program.

Week 1: A new hire will now go through an indoc that last 5 days Monday-Friday then you have Saturday and Sunday off.
Week 2: It's 5 days Monday-Friday for 1900 systems, all 5 days run 8am-3pm in the class followed by an hour in the FTD simulator to learn cockpit switches and systems checks. Saturday is a day off.