View Single Post
Old 06-13-2006, 04:41 AM
LAfrequentflyer
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jul 2005

Originally Posted by ksdc
Thanks to all for your responses!

It definitely helped me exchanging ideas with people who have been where I am. I guess sometimes we choose "not to see and not to hear" opinions that do not enforce the conclusion we would like to reach.

I wonder if it is possible to exchange off-line messages with individuals in the list. For example I would like to contact ERAU1978grad but I could not find ayny other link. Any help?

am a 1978 Air Science graduate from ERAU. I spent $32,000 back then and have no idea what the cost is now with fuel prices included. Reading the pots that say $37k per year just floors me. I feel for the fool who takes that bait.

When I graduated from the DAB campus I had a CFI, 350 hours and was literally THROWN TO THE WOLVES. I spent 5 years as a CFI and night freight pilot accumulating 2000 hours. I added an ATP in a Citation, and CFI-single land and sea, multi land and sea, glider. I had to pay for the Citation training out of pocket at $3500.

I applied to all of the airlines and they wouldn't even look at me. An Air Science degree from Riddle meant nothing then and it still means nothing. Unfortunately, all the propaganda on the web says otherwise.

Thw NUMBER ONE thing that you have to realize about aviation is that there are thousands of pilots out there who will do anything to fly, but there are only so many cockpit slots that can be filled. Your competition will fly for a lot less than you can survive on.