Old 08-23-2008, 10:06 PM
N0315
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Oct 2007
Position: CFII

"The problem (well depends on perspective) with low-wage workers is that their jobs are only worth low-wage."

hmm, I can think of some pilots making 20K a year. Weird you would say that on this site.

From us pilots down to the gas station clerk, we all need to make money to survive. We NEED people to send packages, jump out of planes, and buy tickets. That includes everyone. If your figure is correct, which I believe it is (I think the average for two kid son these programs is around 45K), there is no need to even work. I dont make 32K a year unless I throw in overtime, and I am a certified mig welder. Should THAT be a low paying job? Everyone needs to make enough money to survive, and with one dependent, YOU DONT GET THE PROGRAMS YOU SPEAK OF. I worked at a subway while I went to school, I got nothing in the form of student aid or anything. My dad would not pay for any of it, but let me live at home. SO, that means student loans. I know you're aginst loans, so should I have just not went to college? Work at subway and be a mig welder that only deserves low wages my whole life?

"People are at where they are in life because they want to be there ultimately (excluding medical issues). There is plenty of opportunity in America even in the present economy"