View Single Post
Old 10-01-2008, 08:46 PM
Florida Flyer
Line Holder

Joined APC: Aug 2007
Position: CRJ FO
Default Delta Connection Academy

I am going to take a slightly different perspective than the people who have replied so far. First, let me say that I was a student and instructor at SFB DCA. I completed my private at a local FBO and did the vast majority of my instrument training at the FBO too. The previous posters who say that you get a quality education at DCA are not exaggerating. Since I completed most of my IFR training at an FBO, I took the ground school inst. course and did an abbreviated part 61 inst. course at DCA. The comparison between the instructors' knowledge and training techniques at DCA vs the FBO were night and day. Granted, I do not dispute that good CFIIs can be found at some FBOs, but the fact that each DCA instructor is rigorously standardized greatly conributes to a uniform, quality product. (It's hit or miss at an FBO). If you'd like to save some money, might I suggest getting your PVT and part of your inst rating at an FBO, then finishing your inst. rating and other ratings at DCA. I did it and I feel that I still got a good education.