Thread: An Army of One
View Single Post
Old 03-29-2011, 07:15 AM
SEA 737
767 CAP

Joined APC: Jun 2005
Position: 757 / 767 Cap SEA
Default An Army of One

Found this in our cockpit yesterday (UAL). Thought it was great! The author is anonymous but obviously a CAL pilot. I think the UAL guys can add a few bullet points..... Pass it on!

We're all there.....

I am an army of One - A Captain in the Continental Airlines army.

For years I was a loyal soldier in Gordon's army. Now I fight my own war.

I used to feel valued and respected. Now I know I am mere fodder. They (CAL) used to exhibit labor leadership. Now they exploit legal loopholes. They used to enjoy my maximum. Now they will suffer my minimum.
I am an army of One.

I used to save CAL a thousand pounds of fuel per leg; finding the best FL, getting direct routing, throttling back when on time was made, skimping during ground ops, adjusting for winds, being smart and giving the company every effort I could conjure. Now, it's "burn baby, burn". I used to call maintenance while airborne, so the part would be ready at the gate. Now, they will find the write-up when they look in the book. I used to try to fix problems in the system, now I sit and watch as the miscues pile up. I used to fly sick. Now I use my sick days, on short notice, on the worst day of the month.
I am an army of One.

I used to start the APU at the last possible moment. Now my customers enjoy extreme comfort. I used to let the price of fuel at out-stations affect my fuel orders. I still do. I used to cover mistakes by operations. Now I watch them unfold. I used to hustle to ensure an on-time arrival, to make us the best. Now I do it for the rampers and agents who need the bonus money...but this too may change. I used to call dispatch for rerouting, to head off ground delays for bad weather. Now i collect overs, number 35 in line for takeoff.