Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.




View Full Version : Alaska divert SJO


Tuck
04-15-2017, 03:29 PM
flying on leisure scheduled SJO-LAX. Right before departure they announced we have to make unannounced stop at LIR (20 mins away) because winds favor rwy 07 - guessing second segment climb causing probs from terrain. Surprising thing is headwinds are normal as said by CA - Alaska plans on rwy25 and whenever winds favor 07 they are screwed - adding 1.5 to flight time since its Costa Rica and nothing is easy. Didn't think any majors ran this way since JB used to have issues years ago. As bad as AA and UAL are I've never had an U expected Divert for fuel planning. Ouch. Typical?


CassinAK
04-15-2017, 04:09 PM
I wouldn't say it's typical but it definitely does happen. If the flights full and runway 07 is required then it happens. Most of the time 25 will work even with a strong tailwind but not always. I've had to do it twice since we started and have been down there at least 20 times.

bkaz
04-15-2017, 04:34 PM
Rwy 07 is severely weight restricted. You get much better numbers off of 25 all the way up to max tailwind. Same issue for everyone. It's a longer flight to LAX than DFW or IAH. UAL would have the same issues on the EWR flights. Not a problem specific to Alaska.


Tuck
04-16-2017, 07:53 PM
Rwy 07 is severely weight restricted. You get much better numbers off of 25 all the way up to max tailwind. Same issue for everyone. It's a longer flight to LAX than DFW or IAH. UAL would have the same issues on the EWR flights. Not a problem specific to Alaska.
Do the other airlines put an underpowered 737 on that leg? I'm just surprised they set themselves up this way - that if the other runway is used then short of kicking off about 40 pax you'll have to do a stop and add an hour (and thereby pretty much guarantee everyone one connection misses their late night last flight connections). Seems like you're just setting yourself up for failure.

TheFly
04-17-2017, 05:31 AM
Looks like DL uses a 757 on that route.

aewanabe
04-17-2017, 12:41 PM
Do the other airlines put an underpowered 737 on that leg? I'm just surprised they set themselves up this way - that if the other runway is used then short of kicking off about 40 pax you'll have to do a stop and add an hour (and thereby pretty much guarantee everyone one connection misses their late night last flight connections). Seems like you're just setting yourself up for failure.

Since you mentioned JetBlue, I'll stick up for Alaska and us for a moment; A320s aren't exactly overpowered either but it's what we got so we use them. Same for AK, their options are 737 or 737. Were you on a -900? If so you've maybe got a beef; if they sent a -800 or -700 then it just wasn't your day.

OCCP
04-17-2017, 01:20 PM
Op must not be a 121 pilot

CassinAK
04-17-2017, 02:55 PM
Since you mentioned JetBlue, I'll stick up for Alaska and us for a moment; A320s aren't exactly overpowered either but it's what we got so we use them. Same for AK, their options are 737 or 737. Were you on a -900? If so you've maybe got a beef; if they sent a -800 or -700 then it just wasn't your day.



We only use the -800 on this route. The 900 won't work.

bkaz
04-17-2017, 07:48 PM
Do the other airlines put an underpowered 737 on that leg? .
Yes, including airlines that have the option to use other airplane types.

mike734
04-19-2017, 09:08 AM
Do the other airlines put an underpowered 737 on that leg? I'm just surprised they set themselves up this way - that if the other runway is used then short of kicking off about 40 pax you'll have to do a stop and add an hour (and thereby pretty much guarantee everyone one connection misses their late night last flight connections). Seems like you're just setting yourself up for failure.

What an ignorant and arrogant way to frame the question. Just because you rarely have to make a tech stop or leave revenue behind does not mean you've chosen an under powered airframe. The 737 has limitations; we all know that. But, it's also a money maker and that's what really matters when I'm trying to fund my retirement. isn't it?

We fly the 737-800 off short runways on long legs very nicely, thank you. PHLI and PHOG come to mind. Both airports normally require flaps 25 with the short field option installed to make it happen. Surprise, it works! We make money. (hopefully they will start sharing it with us, bur that's a different subject)

Sure, I wish we could all fly 757s or 747s for that matter. I love flying in a wide body, but that's not the world we live in is it?

Packrat
04-19-2017, 03:09 PM
DCA too. Never a problem at any of those airports.