Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Why are B scales so bad?

da42pilot
08-15-2017, 08:39 AM
Hello guys,

I'm a new hire at a regional trying to learn more about the industry. I keep hearing negative things about a B scale, but all things considered, it seems to me it would be better than the current situation.

With that said, I'm a newbie, so can someone explain to me exactly what a B scale is and why it's not worth pursuing?

Thanks!

Hacker15e
08-15-2017, 08:49 AM
It is very easy to Google "airline b-scale" and find more than enough reading to answer your question.

Here's a start:
http://archive.fortune.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_archive/1997/04/28/225523/index.htm
The war started back in 1983, when a growth imperative gripped major airlines as they raced to compete with low-fare startups. Crandall convinced the pilots that the airline couldn't buy planes to add routes unless new pilots could be hired at drastically reduced pay scales. It seemed like another brilliant Crandall win-win at the time. The pilots who were then at American got to keep their pay, and the new planes offered them opportunities to move more quickly from co-pilot to captain status. Meanwhile, with each new cut-rate pilot, Crandall lowered his average labor costs, all the better to finance the debt incurred in buying the new jets.