Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : USAF to try civilian to AF track

NoDrop
12-01-2017, 08:01 AM
https://www.jqpublicblog.com/desperation-move-air-force-to-experiment-with-partial-training-of-pilots/

Voski
12-01-2017, 10:15 AM
This.... seems like a bad idea. But I'm not a doctor.

ExAF
12-01-2017, 11:00 AM
What could possibly go wrong.:rolleyes:

cougar
12-01-2017, 12:46 PM
Real world mirrors TheOnion...

https://entertainment.theonion.com/blue-angels-hold-first-ever-open-tryouts-1819570388

awax
12-01-2017, 12:58 PM
Yeah General, trading a warrior ethos for a powerpoint deck seems to be working out, eh?.

F4E Mx
12-01-2017, 01:03 PM
Brigadier General James Stewart , probably the most famous USAF pilot after Chuck Yeager, never went to Army AF UPT school. He already had a Commercial rating and a lot of flying experience so the Army sent him to Instructor Pilots school instead. The AAF had a Service Pilot program in WW II for experienced pilots and who were over the age limit for the regular program. They were supposed to be in non-combatant flying duties like instruction and cargo flying. Stewart maneuvered his way around that limitation as well.

galaxy flyer
12-01-2017, 03:21 PM
Assuming they go to heavies, the first night AR will sort it all out.

GF

tomgoodman
12-01-2017, 04:28 PM