Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Honest question: why no union?

fenix1
01-03-2018, 04:21 PM
I understand that this question is inherently political, but my intent is to ask it as objectively (ie, apolitically) as possible as I have no Part 121 flying experience yet.

SkyWest is the only airline (regional or legacy/major) without a union. What unique factors or circumstances of any kind have created a situation where OO pilots benefit from not having representation, while other airlinesí pilots benefit from having representation?

rickair7777
01-03-2018, 04:39 PM
They started out (like all carriers) without a union. Back in the day they were a very good place to work, you wouldn't make millions, but could live in base in low-cost and/or high QOL locals, and have plenty of time off. The founders did in fact care about peoples families.

Things have been on a downward slope since 2000-ish. But the SKW demographic includes a LOT of old-skool conservatives who want nothing to do with a union. The really senior inter-mountain west folks are mostly still taken care of, which helps. Also the west coast lifestyle crowd tends to not to want to think about airlines on their days off. Unions in general are more of an eastern/midwest thing in general, if you grew up in the east, everybody's dad was in the union, the mob, or both.

OO would probably benefit from it today, but there's a lot of momentum to overcome. The time to vote in alpa was ten years ago, the barn door is starting to swing in the breeze now. Also the large up-wardly mobile mid-seniority demographic doesn't want to to rock the boat before they get their PIC and get out.

DL31082