Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Looking to the Future

Beechsierra
02-05-2018, 11:51 AM
Looking to get some advice and info. I am a current regional FO at Envoy. The flow is a great backup plan but have always wanted to fly for Southwest. I am still pretty new to the 121 world but would love to hear some thoughts on what it takes to get hired on at Southwest. It seems like right now guys only get hired with 5-10,000 hours. I am currently at 1700 so I have a ways to go. What are y'alls thoughts on hiring in the next few years? Will the minimums to get on with Southwest come down? It may be a long shot but I was hoping by the time I am closing in on 3,000 hours to have a shot. Anyway thanks in advance for your thoughts

utahpilot
02-05-2018, 01:45 PM
become a captain at your airline, then ASAP a LCA, instructor, something that makes you different than the avg pilot. Rack up hours, stay in touch with anyone and everyone you know who goes to Southwest. Apply, update often.

Lotsa dudes in the applicant pool with TT much much higher than yours, but who knows what the future holds. Seems the only 'low time' guys that get on are military.

G'luck

flensr
02-05-2018, 05:19 PM
SWA doesn't have the huge numbers of mandatory retirements that some of the other major/legacy airlines do, but they do have a steady increase in retirements over the next several years. So basically keep your application updated and they'll tell you when you make the cut.

Wingsuit
02-06-2018, 09:45 AM