Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Need a class 1 to apply to AAL?

golf papa
02-10-2018, 09:54 AM
Hi,

Should be an easy question to answer -- I am a current military pilot with a flight physical, and I want to get my app into AAL as soon as I can via pilotcredentials.com, but on the link, the minimum prerequisite questions tell me I need a valid FAA class 1 before applying.

I have found an AME in my local area, but I don't want to spend the money or get it too early if I don't need it yet, I'm about a year out from leaving the military.

Should I get my flight physical now or will AAL pay for it if I get hired or what?

Thanks,

GP

FlewNavy
02-10-2018, 10:42 AM
Hi,

Should be an easy question to answer -- I am a current military pilot with a flight physical, and I want to get my app into AAL as soon as I can via pilotcredentials.com, but on the link, the minimum prerequisite questions tell me I need a valid FAA class 1 before applying.

I have found an AME in my local area, but I don't want to spend the money or get it too early if I don't need it yet, I'm about a year out from leaving the military.

Should I get my flight physical now or will AAL pay for it if I get hired or what?

Thanks,

GP

It is unlikely that your application would even be considered for review if you did not have a current 1st class medical.

Your military flight surgeon may also be an FAA AME and can give you a 2nd class and an EKG. You can then mail/fax in your EKG to Oklahoma and request your 2nd class be upgraded to a first class.