Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Schedules/Reserve/Pay

NeoPilott
03-07-2018, 06:08 AM
Hey all,

Live around KEWR and was wondering if someone could answer the following

what are the schedules like at C5 including reserve time. Are there many trips of 1-3 day length?

Ability to credit over 75 min. guaranteed?

Any open time to pick up extra trips?

Deciding between C5 and 135 operator in the area with great pay but awful training contract.

Thanks, any info will be helpful.

P.S. I am new to 121/135 flying.

flydiamond
03-07-2018, 09:27 AM
Hey all,

what are the schedules like at C5 including reserve time. Are there many trips of 1-3 day length?

Deciding between C5 and 135 operator in the area with great pay but awful training contract.

Have you considered Endeavor, Envoy or Republic living in NYC? Quality of life, pays and career progression is better all around at those three.

Saucy Dingo
03-07-2018, 09:30 AM
Hey all,

P.S. I am new to 121/135 flying.You will be on reserve as long as you are at commutair. Line holders are placed on reserve all the time. C5 has an awful contract too, so you'd be losing out on pay AND contract if you came. Trips are usually 3-6 days, but I've been extended up to 7 days. I would highly recommend pursuing other options in EWR and NY, like Republic or Endeavor. Reserve is fairly short in EWR/NY everywhere, but they have better schedules, staffing, pay, and work rules than commutair.

For the record I know a lot of people coming out of 135 flying that much prefer airline schedules versus being on-call all the time. Good luck.

PotatoChip
03-07-2018, 10:23 AM
Hey all,