Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

Mystikman23
04-10-2018, 05:48 PM
Looking for any tips/tricks/advice on commuting. Specifically, looking to commute from HNL to fly for a west coast based regional. Constraints:

-Live in Hawaii
-Need to build FW time via a regional Rotary Transition Program (Im a military Helo driver)

Any help would be much appreciated!

Aloha!
Mystikman23

VIRotate
04-10-2018, 09:41 PM
FlightStats, Passrider, StaffTraveler will make you excellent at commuting. I know we have a lot of Hawaii commuters here.

poorflyer
04-11-2018, 06:06 AM
Just live in LA for a year and build time quick. I've heard Hawaiin loves anyone with ties to the islands and will pick up those FOs real quick.

Slowhawk
04-11-2018, 07:48 AM
^ this. If youíre from Hawaii and fly at compass, you can end up at Hawaiian surprisingly quick. Apply early and multiple times

FlytheSky
04-11-2018, 10:06 AM
Every single FO I've flown with at Compass who commutes from Hawaii and has been online for more than 6 months either has an interview date, CJO, or class date at Hawaiian. Without exception. If you're coming from Hawaii, I'd recommend Compass since you'd get LAX right out of the gate which is a far easier commute than flying to DTW, ORD, MSP, or ATL from Hawaii.

skruts
04-11-2018, 03:39 PM
As for commuting from Hawaii be prepared to get creative during the busy season. I always had the worst luck with Hawaiian surprisingly. AA got me on in the bus often, UAL has two jumps in the 777 and is always a great ride.