Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

armyclimber
07-18-2018, 11:58 AM
So I am an Army veteran. I was on active duty for 12 years and some change before becoming a pilot and perusing this career.

I know that a lot of carriers prefer veterans.

Does this just apply to those that flew in the military?

About me:

2550 hrs
1000 pc-12 PIC both 135 and 91
2200 PIC

Currently at ATP for CTP paid for by a regional.

I also have a BS in Aviation from University of Alaska.

Obviously Iím not gonna get hired at American next month, but Iím just trying to get an idea of where i should be aiming my sights.

Thanks

rickair7777
07-18-2018, 12:31 PM
As a non-pilot mil vet you'll get a very slight preference simply because they know you can follow rules in an organization, and show up on time with a clean uniform and a shave.

But it's not going to get you hired at a top tier major without competitive quals. It's possible you might get called just a little sooner. A little more credit if you were an officer.

Also ASEL TPIC isn't worth much unless it was in a fighter. You need to go fly a crewed glass ME jet (sounds like you're doing that next).

armyclimber
07-18-2018, 03:07 PM
Yeah I know the PC-12 time isnít super valuable... again not trying to go to American tomorrow. But itís also not flying a Cessna.

Flying single pilot into LAX or SEA on a cloudy day is not a walk in the park.

Regardless yeah I am headed to a regional... just gotta check this CTP box first.