Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : DFW-PHX Commute

Glasswing
08-13-2018, 05:37 PM
Hey all,
I'm ready to apply to the regionals and looking to gain some insight on how commutable the trips are out of PHX.
I assume a 10am show or later would be "commutable" for me from DFW but I am new to all this. Let me know what y'all think!

poorflyer
08-13-2018, 05:42 PM
Hey all,
I'm ready to apply to the regionals and looking to gain some insight on how commutable the trips are out of PHX.
I assume a 10am show or later would be "commutable" for me from DFW but I am new to all this. Let me know what y'all think!

I'm not PHX based but I can tell you the base was made for the sole purpose of recruiting so I assume the lines aren't that great nor efficient. I'll let some PHX peeps chime in on that. But if you can manage to commute there, adding another 50 mins to your commute to LAX may allow you more leniency in schedules and also better flying.

Edit: Should add that LAX is the only base that gets your delta and American benefits, so at least commuting from DFW-LAX you'd be able to have access to loads and a pretty good priority.

Beechnutz
08-13-2018, 06:14 PM
Bad idea. Iíd suggest LAX instead.

PHX is a small base and a lot of the trips start very early. Actually almost all of them do.

There is only 22 lines in PHX and maybe a couple would start late enough to commute but those will be taken by the senior guys.

I hated commuting when I was at OO. So Iím a big propionate of suggesting got somewhere you can drive to work. Youíll be so much happier.

Or just move here and youíll be happy.

Beechnutz
08-13-2018, 06:16 PM