Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

CWOMaddog
08-21-2018, 06:51 AM
Hi folks,

Unable to find an answer to this after searching throughout this forum.

As an Army helicopter pilot, my flight time totals do not include cross country time, as we didnt log that in the military. Unfortunately I didnt have the foresight to log it manually back then.

Now that I'm considering the regionals, I'm looking for a proper method for estimating my cross country helicopter time to help meet the requirements for an R-ATP. Can this be reasonably done, and how do I go about it?

Thanks in advance!

rickair7777
08-21-2018, 10:49 AM
For the ATP, as you probably know, XC time only needs to involve flying at least 50NM from the point of departure. You are not required to perform a landing >50NM away (that is required for other ratings).

But in your case the safest thing to do would be to first try to identify every flight where there was a documented landing 50+ NM away... that proves how far you traveled, and could be logged without any issues.

If that doesn't get you to the time you need, then look at flights where the mission was some sort of known, commonly performed flight which you know is more than 50NM. Ie, flight to a range, training area, VR route, DZ, etc. That way if it ever became an issue you could presumably find someone to vouch that the sort of flight you're claiming is plausible and common.