Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Returning advise

Mx241
11-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Iím 49 with 970 TT mostly built as CFI. Iíve been in a non aviation career for a while. I live in Greenville SC 1:20 drive to CAE so AW is appealing. According to AWís pilot calculator I need 484 TT and 10 hrs night to meet employment requirements. Iím willing to buy a Cessna 150 and build the time in 3 months. Iíd rather get it over with rather than drag out 30-40 hrs a month CFI-ing. Will AW frown on this approach? I have a bachelors in professional aviation if that helps. I donít want to waste time at my age. Any other advise for someone in my situation would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

tonsterboy5
11-07-2018, 07:33 PM
Don't think they care that much, It might look bad if you build to much more than that though

squib
11-07-2018, 09:47 PM
Don't think they care that much, It might look bad if you build to much more than that though

Too much time looks bad? They hire nearly anyone that applies and keeps them if they can pass training. End of story.

pilotyip
11-08-2018, 03:30 AM
They do not care, as long as you meet FAA mins, it could be a hot air balloon.

Flaps8posrate
11-08-2018, 04:51 AM
Do it! If you meet minimums youíve got an opportunity to succeed. File and fly IFR for each and every flight. Youíll be better for it!

tonsterboy5
11-08-2018, 06:16 AM
Not that more looks bad, 500 is a lot to pay for when there are tons of jobs available at 1000 hours. If you can do it fast on your on though it makes more since then working a slow job for 6-8 months. Just be prepared to have lots of down time with a broken plane

Cessnaflyer1213
11-08-2018, 07:25 AM