Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.




View Full Version : Headset plug in the E175?


baronbvp
11-24-2018, 07:35 AM
I’m having trouble figuring out which plug to get when I order my A20 headset. I’ve seen dual plug, 5-pin XLR, and 6-pin answers for the E175 in various threads or websites. Some said ERJs have both the dual plug and XLR. I'm guessing the simulators match the jet. Can someone please shed some light so I don’t buy the wrong one?


Jonneaux
11-24-2018, 09:03 AM
I have the 5 pin XLR and love it. No more batteries.

baronbvp
11-24-2018, 09:59 AM
Thanks, Jonneaux. 5-pin XLR it is. Iím hoping Bose or Amazon have a Cyber Monday deal on the A20, but itís probably wishful thinking.


Jonneaux
11-24-2018, 04:16 PM
Thanks, Jonneaux. 5-pin XLR it is. Iím hoping Bose or Amazon have a Cyber Monday deal on the A20, but itís probably wishful thinking.

Bose rarely offers discounts, but they do offer to throw in a nice blue tooth speaker sometimes. About a $200 value.

dera
11-26-2018, 12:34 AM
Bose rarely offers discounts, but they do offer to throw in a nice blue tooth speaker sometimes. About a $200 value.

Bose always offers discounts. Pro tip: Reach out to a teacher you know...

baronbvp
11-26-2018, 05:51 AM
Good idea.

Does the simulator power the headphones through the XLR plug, or do I need to get the XLR-to-dual plug adapter?

MarineFly
11-29-2018, 09:00 AM
What Kind of plug does the ERJ 175 have?


Not sure the basic question for the newbies has been answered - if you already have an A20 with the GA plug what do you need to do to adapt to the ERJ 175?

trip
11-29-2018, 09:29 AM
Not sure the basic question for the newbies has been answered - if you already have an A20 with the GA plug what do you need to do to adapt to the ERJ 175?

Both, if you have 2 plug GA style or coming over from the CRJ just plug it in. If you donít want to buy batteries then get a 5 pin XLR style and plug it in.

baronbvp
11-29-2018, 11:07 AM
Both, if you have 2 plug GA style or coming over from the CRJ just plug it in. If you donít want to buy batteries then get a 5 pin XLR style and plug it in.



I didnít have one, so I bought the XLR so itís powered. If I change jets to a GA plug, Iíll buy the XLR-to-GA plug adapter but it will then need batteries. I think the headset itself is powered either way, but the XLR plug powers the ANR.

MarineFly
11-29-2018, 02:59 PM
Both, if you have 2 plug GA style or coming over from the CRJ just plug it in. If you donít want to buy batteries then get a 5 pin XLR style and plug it in.


Forgive my lack of SA on this - when you say "5 pin XLR style", is this an adapter to plug into the GA style A20, or do you mean you have to get a different A20 with the 5 pin style plug?

baronbvp
11-29-2018, 03:07 PM
Forgive my lack of SA on this - when you say "5 pin XLR style", is this an adapter to plug into the GA style A20, or do you mean you have to get a different A20 with the 5 pin style plug?



You can buy an A20 with a 5-pin XLR plug. Airbus uses it and apparently so does Embraer. Search for it on Amazon or Bose websites to see. Itís meant for the aircraft to power the ANR instead of needing batteries.

You can also buy an A20 with a GA two-prong plug, a 6-pin plug, or a U174 helicopter plug. There are adapters for some plugs into others. Most are to convert non-GA headsets to a GA plug since that jack is the most common in aircraft by far, at least outside the airlines or military.

Jonneaux
11-30-2018, 03:17 PM
You can also change the cord to adapt your existing A20 to any of the options. A new cord runs about $200 or $300 with bluetooth.

MarineFly
12-01-2018, 06:56 AM
You can buy an A20 with a 5-pin XLR plug. Airbus uses it and apparently so does Embraer. Search for it on Amazon or Bose websites to see. Itís meant for the aircraft to power the ANR instead of needing batteries.

You can also buy an A20 with a GA two-prong plug, a 6-pin plug, or a U174 helicopter plug. There are adapters for some plugs into others. Most are to convert non-GA headsets to a GA plug since that jack is the most common in aircraft by far, at least outside the airlines or military.


I think I found it: "This adapter converts your dual plug GA headset to the Airbus radio system. Accepts standard .25 PJ-055 and .206 PJ-068 plugs. Adapts to XLR-5 PIN/DIN Airbus type male."


Would this configuration (A20 GA Plugs to adapter described above) relieve me of needing batteries? Or is that only when you have an A20 with XLR5 cord?

trip
12-01-2018, 07:47 AM
I think I found it: "This adapter converts your dual plug GA headset to the Airbus radio system. Accepts standard .25 PJ-055 and .206 PJ-068 plugs. Adapts to XLR-5 PIN/DIN Airbus type male."


Would this configuration (A20 GA Plugs to adapter described above) relieve me of needing batteries? Or is that only when you have an A20 with XLR5 cord?

With the Bose (and most others you will still need batteries. I think Telex made one (850?) that was two plug and wouldn't need batteries, not sure if could draw power through an adapter, it was not a popular headset.
Your over-thinking this! E175 Just show up with a headset, on-the-ear, over-the-ear, in-the-ear, anr or no anr and your good. CRJ-bring a dual plug type or get an adapter if you already have 5 pin.

MarineFly
12-01-2018, 12:26 PM
Your over-thinking this!


Lol I don't think I am overthinking it - if I dont have to lug around, or change batteries, that's better, right? Earlier on thread someone said of their A20:



I have the 5 pin XLR and love it. No more batteries.



Just trying to understand if that is true when you simply buy an adapter or you have to have the dedicated XLR cord on the A20. Probably just need to call the company.

ninerdriver
12-01-2018, 12:56 PM
With the Bose (and most others you will still need batteries. I think Telex made one (850?) that was two plug and wouldn't need batteries, not sure if could draw power through an adapter, it was not a popular headset.
Your over-thinking this! E175 Just show up with a headset, on-the-ear, over-the-ear, in-the-ear, anr or no anr and your good. CRJ-bring a dual plug type or get an adapter if you already have 5 pin.

The Telex 850 and 8 both have ANR powered by the intercom, so they don't need batteries. That being said, I have an 8, and I've had to send them back for repair three times in a year and a half.

baronbvp
12-01-2018, 01:08 PM
Lol I don't think I am overthinking it - if I dont have to lug around, or change batteries, that's better, right? Earlier on thread someone said of their A20:







Just trying to understand if that is true when you simply buy an adapter or you have to have the dedicated XLR cord on the A20. Probably just need to call the company.



Thatís probably wise. My understanding is that the GA jack in the airplane is not powered, nor will a GA wire power the ANR, so an XLR adapter on a GA plug wonít either. But Bose should be able to tell you.

I bought mine from scratch so went with the XLR plug. Iím hoping those jacks are powered in the sim as well.

Paid2fly
12-01-2018, 11:04 PM
The Telex 850 and 8 both have ANR powered by the intercom, so they don't need batteries. That being said, I have an 8, and I've had to send them back for repair three times in a year and a half.



What's the difference between the 8 and 850?

word302
12-02-2018, 03:52 AM
Lol I don't think I am overthinking it - if I dont have to lug around, or change batteries, that's better, right? Earlier on thread someone said of their A20:







Just trying to understand if that is true when you simply buy an adapter or you have to have the dedicated XLR cord on the A20. Probably just need to call the company.

You need the dedicated XLR plug. The GA plug doesnít have the wiring to carry power to the headset, adapter or not.

MarineFly
12-02-2018, 12:08 PM
Copy! Thanks!!

ninerdriver
12-02-2018, 04:36 PM
What's the difference between the 8 and 850?

The 8 is the newer 850... it has a few extra pads and a different headband.

donpizmeov2
12-03-2018, 03:40 AM
A20 better than the ProFlight?

word302
12-03-2018, 04:04 AM
A20 better than the ProFlight?

Most that have tried the pro flight find it uncomfortable. If Iím going to wear an in ear headset it better not be messiní with my hair.

chitolin
12-03-2018, 06:50 AM
Most that have tried the pro flight find it uncomfortable. If Iím going to wear an in ear headset it better not be messiní with my hair.

Been using it since August. Besides a little hair messin' wouldn't use any other. Light and ANR is great.
Granted my former ones where Heavy DCs for 10 years

Paid2fly
12-05-2018, 11:10 PM
The 8 is the newer 850... it has a few extra pads and a different headband.






I see, does the ANR work any better than it did on the 850, or about the same?

ninerdriver
12-06-2018, 08:15 PM
I see, does the ANR work any better than it did on the 850, or about the same?

I couldn't tell you... I've played with a 750, but never had an 850.

planesense
12-29-2018, 01:28 PM
I know you guys are super tired of us noobs not getting it... But just to make sure: If I'm going to buy a Bose A20 to use in an E175, I can get the XLR connector to avoid the battery issue, and then get an XLR-to-dual plug adapter for when I fly GA (but will need batteries for ANR)? If that's the case, how much does one of those adapters cost?

Edit: I think I found it here, right? https://www.sportys.com/pilotshop/airbus-to-twin-plug-headset-adapter.html

baronbvp
12-29-2018, 02:29 PM
I know you guys are super tired of us noobs not getting it... But just to make sure: If I'm going to buy a Bose A20 to use in an E175, I can get the XLR connector to avoid the battery issue, and then get an XLR-to-dual plug adapter for when I fly GA (but will need batteries for ANR)? If that's the case, how much does one of those adapters cost?

Edit: I think I found it here, right? https://www.sportys.com/pilotshop/airbus-to-twin-plug-headset-adapter.html



Iím a noob too, but that was my understanding. I bought the A20 with the XLR plug and saw the jack for it in the ERJ Trainer in Denver. The GA adapter should work when you fly GA, but my understanding is it wonít power the ANR through the GA plug.

Airboyaz
12-30-2018, 08:27 AM
Both the Bose and DC ANR with 5 pin work without batteries in the 175. If you buy the dual plug and then attach the 5 pin adapter it will not power the ANR/bluetooth, you will need batteries. If you have the 5 pin and then get the dual plug adapter (flying GA or jumpseating) you'll need batteries to run ANR/bluetooth. The 5 pin is great in the 175, plug it in and everything works without batteries.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

planesense
12-30-2018, 11:32 AM
If you have the 5 pin and then get the dual plug adapter (flying GA or jumpseating) you'll need batteries to run ANR/bluetooth. The 5 pin is great in the 175, plug it in and everything works without batteries.

This is what I just did. Excited to not have to buy nearly as many batteries!



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1