Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

FAFWaterbro
02-01-2019, 03:24 PM
I'm a full-time student at UND, just got my PPL, working on my instrument.

My goal is to go fly for Cathay Pacific, Cathay Dragon, Hongkong Airline or Singapore Airline. The sooner the better.

There are Career Pathway Programs advertised from many regionals in the school, many I can join for mentorship or seniority in a later time.

-I don't have a preference in base options, I can go live anywhere near that base, I won't need to commute.

-I'm 27 years old. Should be reaching 1000 hrs R-ATP in 3 years.

What are some aspects I should consider when looking at which company to go right now? Fleet? Upgrade time?

How should I plan right now to get to my end goal?

I don't personally know anyone in the airlines, so I figure this is probably the best place to look for suggestions.

Answers are all sincerely appreciated! Thanks! :)

SteakSauce
02-01-2019, 03:38 PM
First off with all the flow programs at regional airlines i would say read the fine print carefully, These programs usually make over promises, so dig in and look at the hardcore numbers.

Second i wouldn't recommend the Asian carriers unless you love china and want to live there forever. I have a lot of buddies doing that thing and aren't getting picked up by the big three.