Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : AMR Selling EAGLE

tone
11-28-2007, 11:47 AM
So,
Will the scope clause hold up? As a businessman it seems like a good thing for AMR, as a pilot, I'm not sure?? I think our scope will still protect any Regional Junk (RJ) feeder whether its Eagle or not.?:confused:

flaps 9
11-28-2007, 12:21 PM
So,
Will the scope clause hold up? As a businessman it seems like a good thing for AMR, as a pilot, I'm not sure?? I think our scope will still protect any Regional Junk (RJ) feeder whether its Eagle or not.?:confused:

Every Tom, Dick, and Harry will be bidding to get their piece of the "American" pie. :eek:

For those who don't understand the reference:

That's RAH, PNC,XJT,AirWhiskey,TSH, Sky West, Mesa, and even Eagle. :(

glasspilot
11-28-2007, 12:24 PM
I can already hear the stampede as the flowthroughs with AA numbers run for the exit!

RJ Pilot
11-28-2007, 12:39 PM
So,

If this were to happen;Buh-Bye scope.

757Driver
11-28-2007, 12:56 PM

Don't think so. Check out when CAL sold off Express.

HSLD
11-28-2007, 01:24 PM
In the case of a merger or acquisition there is typically a seller and buyer. In the AMR announcement all I hear is that they are ready to divest Eagle.

Any speculation about who would want to buy? Hedge funds, other airlines?

This seems far from a done deal although I'm sure they wouldn't announce anything unless they had a plan (oh wait, we're talking about airlines :) )

meritflyer
11-28-2007, 01:41 PM
I have a very credible source from the "inside" that Skywest is looking very hard at buying Eagle.

Mark those words.

jsled
11-28-2007, 01:47 PM