Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Savings vs. Debt?

Phuz
01-22-2008, 11:00 AM
Hey guys, I'm a regional pilot and I'm wondering if its smarter to pay off student loan debt or make minimum payments while saving for something like a down payment on a home.

I'll make ~$27,000 this year. (I'm looking for part-time work too)
I have ~$50,000 in student loan debt. Here's a breakdown:
$5000 @ 4.5%
$7000 @ 9.21%
$16000 @ 8.65%
$22000 @ 7.2%
No kids - no savings.

Any advice? Thanks.

vagabond
01-22-2008, 11:19 AM
Well, it's been a long time since I made $27,000 a year, but we all have to start somewhere. Back when that was all I made, I also did not have a house, so my rather conservative brain forced me to pay off debt. If I were in your shoes again, I would pay off first that debt with the highest interest rate. 9.21% is un-American and immoral!! But that's just me.

There is a thread on the forums on buying vs renting. The housing market is down right now and looks like it's going to be that way for a while longer. You have time to save up the down payment. Depending on where you live or want to buy a house, it is not difficult to save up the 10 to 20%. And don't forget that the IRS allows you to deduct the home mortgage insurance premiums now.

Good luck!

Estee
01-22-2008, 11:28 AM
First, I'm no financial guru...