Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.




View Full Version : Ethernet connection at FedEx?


emorga
03-10-2010, 04:10 PM
Does anybody know how to connect to the ethernet connnection at the hub in Memphis with a Mac laptop? :rolleyes:


The Walrus
03-10-2010, 04:30 PM
Is there an echo in here?

Canyonman
03-10-2010, 07:12 PM
Does anybody know how to connect to the ethernet connnection at the hub in Memphis with a Mac laptop? :rolleyes:

From the fedex pilot website:

"Software and Technology Wireless Network Access"

"Effective June 1, 2009, personal computers are no longer allowed to connect to the FedEx Intranet."


I bet it would apply to a ethernet hard line as well. I have tried both. No joy.

CM


FDXLAG
03-10-2010, 11:57 PM
With windows it take a a proxy setting and a port to get ethernet connection to work. Might try one of the MAC guys using internet in AOC next time you see them.

Dahlysia
03-11-2010, 05:08 AM
I tried with a MAC with no luck.

FDXLAG
03-11-2010, 08:18 AM
I tried with a MAC with no luck.

Your approach is wrong. Make a post saying how great windows is because you can use ethernet in AOC and you will have 952 Steve Jobs worshippers reply and tell you how you can do it faster and better with a MAC.;)

As a bonus you will get 1700 posts telling you how backward windows is.

Magenta Line
03-11-2010, 08:53 AM
emorga and dahlysia:

Got to the back of AOC where us Mac guys are planning world domination, refining cold fusion, and figuring out women. We'll give you the secret handshake and show you how to get on the internet while the PC guys are wrestling with countless security questions, simple worm viruses, and malware.

You can also send me a PM.

MaydayMark
03-12-2010, 10:04 AM
Typing this on my Mac in the AOC right now ... works good but not easy to connect. BIG learning curve and the old gouge didn't work, had to improvise some new settings ... :D



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1