Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.

View Full Version : Aviation degree

PearlPilot
01-21-2007, 05:40 PM
I am a junior at college and I am majoring at humanities. I plan to start my flight training in May. When people ask me what is my major I say humanities. They ask what is that? I say well it is a really broad area of study, but I just want the degree so that I can become an airline pilot. This is exactly what happened to me. By doing research on the internet I found out that it does not matter what bachelor's degree you get, but just so that you have one airlines don't care. So I scrolled down the list of majors and chose humanities, the easiest major. Now I regret my decision terribly. I understand that it won't matter, but bad things do happen. What if I get furloughed or lose my medical? What kind of a job would I go back to? Surely, humanities has nothing to do with my interest. I have been and I am passionate about aviation, and I cannot imagine being in a career other than aviation. It was very hard for me to accept this situation because I can graduate by next year. But I think it is now time for me to make a serious decision. I already e-mailed a couple of schools that offers both flight training and an aviation degree. No I am not talking about Riddle or Webster. These schools has an average tuition fee of around 13-17K per year excluding flight costs. I think I am pretty firm on my decision to do this. I want to have a good college experience and get out and say that it was worth it. If something bad happens for my flying carfeer I want to be able to make a career out of the aviation field. I would certainly appriciate any opinions regarding this issue.