Airline Pilot Forums

Airline Pilot Forums was designed to be a community where working airline pilots can share ideas and information about the aviation field. In the forum you will find information about major and regional airline carriers, career training, interview and job seeker help, finance, and living the airline pilot lifestyle.




View Full Version : Question on Radiotelephony


Fweinngd
12-17-2015, 07:48 PM
Hi guys, I would appreciate if someone could enlighten me with my queries regarding Radiotelephony (RT). I'm currently doing a license conversion and I'm required to prove my FAA comes with a RT license.
Is the FCC RR a Radiotelephony license that I need? And since I can exercise radio privileges, why do I still need to apply for an FCC RR? Shouldn't it be a default case? Appreciate yr ans and comments


fiveninerzero
12-17-2015, 08:28 PM
The FAA certificates do not come with international RT privileges. You need to go to www.fcc.gov and apply for a restricted license like all of us had to do.

The Dominican
12-18-2015, 12:26 AM
It is an ICAO requirement for international operations and all the member states require their crew members to have it...., the US is a member state so you do need it....! It's quite easy to get.

Pardon me for asking but...., Is this validation of your license for a job abroad?
If it isn't then disregard my next comment but if it is, let me give you a bit of unsolicited advise.

The least you ask Why? The more enjoyable your experience will be...., if you start questioning and comparing everything, you will be ****ed off and miserable rather quickly.


Fweinngd
12-18-2015, 03:18 PM
Thank you guys for all the comments and answers. Appreciate that.

NEDude
12-20-2015, 03:33 AM
Fweinngd: Please check your PMs.



Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1