Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Air Ambulance Physical Requirements

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2017, 05:54 AM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Sep 2016
Default Air Ambulance Physical Requirements

Hey guys,

I'm a pilot that has been out of the cockpit for a few years now and was thinking of going back to flying for a living.

I've always been intrigued by air ambulance. Understand that it's not the big coin, but I've missed doing something meaningful since retiring from the military.

Beyond getting hired with a nothing more than taildragger time in the last several years, I do have some concerns about some of the uniquely physical aspects of the job...namely patient loading.

I'm pushing 50 now and, while I don't walk with a cane, I gave the better part of my back to pulling Gs, running in boots, and hunching in cockpits. Realistically, how much lifting, shoving, and hauling are you doing in Air Ambulance? I understand that some aircraft have lifts and cargo doors and such. Some don't.

But anyone able to give me a general feel as to how much of this stuff is involved in the job?

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-16-2017, 07:49 AM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Feb 2013

There are multiple guys over 65 that work for my company, who don't seem to have an issue. You are having to pull quite a bit of weight while loading the patient, but the ramp system makes it very doable, and usually you have at least 4 others to help. The biggest issue I have had is the tight spaces. Having to lift 75lbs while bending at the waist, and repositioning yourself often includes getting over a seat to avoid wires, hoses, ect. that come with some patients. I believe it would be much easier in an aircraft with a big cabin like the PC-12 (my company uses PA31).