Notices
Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Ameriflight

Old 04-10-2018, 11:35 AM
Ameriflight

Joined APC: Sep 2014

Originally Posted by A150K View Post
How has the ABQ operation adjusted to that? I'm a former amf pilot who was based there and the loading (i.e 100% on the pilots) of the Chieftains specifically was a common source of...umm..tension between pilots (mostly tdy's) and the UPS "loaders".
We worked with UPS and they now have two people coming out - a driver and a helper typically. It came down to communicating that we wanted our pilots to be pilots and not have to handle cargo. UPS has made a commitment to making that happen and the transition has been pretty smooth so far with us being able to communicate any issues effectively.
Old 04-10-2018, 12:15 PM
Banned

Joined APC: Jan 2013

Originally Posted by FreightDogs View Post
We worked with UPS and they now have two people coming out - a driver and a helper typically. It came down to communicating that we wanted our pilots to be pilots and not have to handle cargo. UPS has made a commitment to making that happen and the transition has been pretty smooth so far with us being able to communicate any issues effectively.
What chain of custody is in place if the loaded load incorrectly? Is UPS training these drivers and helpers to properly load a given aircraft? I would imagine the pilot would still be canned if the plane was loaded incorrectly because they have the ultimate responsibility. Seems like a dangerous liability.
Old 04-10-2018, 12:45 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2011
Position: Any

Originally Posted by Jetlife View Post
What chain of custody is in place if the loaded load incorrectly? Is UPS training these drivers and helpers to properly load a given aircraft? I would imagine the pilot would still be canned if the plane was loaded incorrectly because they have the ultimate responsibility. Seems like a dangerous liability.
Always have to try to go negative, eh Jetlife?