Go Back  Airline Pilot Central Forums > Airline Pilot Forums > Part 135
Part 135 pilot jumpseat on Part 121 or Fedex/UPS? >

Part 135 pilot jumpseat on Part 121 or Fedex/UPS?

Notices
Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Part 135 pilot jumpseat on Part 121 or Fedex/UPS?

Old 10-23-2020, 11:36 PM
New Hire

Joined APC: Apr 2019

Originally Posted by Brickhut View Post
and there’s always plenty of advance notice of these empty legs. So much so that we 121 guys can count on these empty legs weeks in advance for our commute!

This simply is NOT reciprocal. Period. No matter how you spin it.

No 135 folks on my jumpseat, regardless of whether my company strikes an agreement with this...uh..endeavor...unless it’s an empty leg. 🤣
Hi BrickHut, thanks for the feedback,

I do love the irony in your statement, jumpseating has always been offered as-is. So let me ask you the same question.

If I was a airline pilot from another airline requesting a jumpseat on your aircraft, could you guarantee me a ride on your flight weeks in advance?

This system allows charter companies to create a jumpseat program where there are virtually no options for them.

We have designed this system to allow charter companies the ability to reciprocate as best as they can, which if you had any idea of the scale, is by no means a small contribution. By working together they would have a massive network with or without airline involvement. But we're all friends in the industry and so we built JumpHub in the spirit of including every operator right from the start. If airlines want to offer this to their pilots in the future, they are most welcome. If they don't, then charter still has viable options to get somewhere and save a few bucks doing so.

Will it work every time? No. Does jumpseating on airlines work every time? Not at all.
Old 10-24-2020, 08:25 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Nov 2011
Position: Admiral