Part 135 Part 135 commercial operators

Part 135 Insurance Minimums

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 11:48 AM
Drinkin' coffee...

Joined APC: Sep 2007
Position: P-p-piiilatusss
Default Part 135 Insurance Minimums

I was talking with a guy today who was looking into getting a Piper Navajo. He was asking me what I thought about putting it on a 135 to keep it flying and maybe defer some of the cost?

I have no experience or much knowledge about 135 insurance. What would an insurance company look for hours as far as total time, multi time and time in type in the Navajo? How much would the policy cost?

I'm just looking for the rough estimate because now this guy has got me curious.
Old 06-18-2009, 04:42 PM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Nov 2008

I am paying around 14000 for our panther navajo which includes 400k hull insurance 1mill/100,000 liability. I have a pretty good broker if you would like more info on him pm me. A lot of other companies I have talked to are around 15-17k. Time in type is what they really like. I think our open pilot policy is 2000tt 100 in type and I don't remember the multi requirement. The less experience you have the higher the premium and they will probably require some sort of yearly school like flight safety or your 135 training program can suffice if they approve it.
Old 06-18-2009, 04:48 PM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2006
Default Good insurance broker....

If you paid that kind of money to play the game you do not have a good insurance broker. You have a weathy insurance broker who charges you the full allowable fee and gives you no break on his commision. Learn to negotiate or get someone who can.
Old 06-18-2009, 04:54 PM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Jan 2009
Position: FA-20 CA

There are several PA-31 135 operators that can allow pilots to fly at basic 135mins. I'm not sure how things are now but 6 years ago the part 91 insurance mins were higher than 135. Although part 135 was more costly.
Old 06-18-2009, 05:58 PM
Line Holder