Problem with prescription sunglasses

Subscribe
hey all,

I am new to eye glasses and bought a pair of ray ban wrap around sunglasses to put the progressive lenses into.

Everything is fine until I go flying.

Looking through the glasses in certain angles in the cockpit, the EFIS screens all dissapear. I flew yesterday for the first time and was amazed to find when I look at the screens and the digital radio displays they can all just become blank. Its only on a very narrow part of the lense but its very annoying.

Has anybody seen this before.

Are there certain glasses that one should avoid when flying?
I believe that polarized lenses can cause that.
An expensive lesson, but swap the polarized lens for non-polarized and you get rid of seeing the interference pattens on the windshield, and you'll be able to see the glass cockpit from all angles.
Quote: hey all,

I am new to eye glasses and bought a pair of ray ban wrap around sunglasses to put the progressive lenses into.

Everything is fine until I go flying.

Looking through the glasses in certain angles in the cockpit, the EFIS screens all dissapear. I flew yesterday for the first time and was amazed to find when I look at the screens and the digital radio displays they can all just become blank. Its only on a very narrow part of the lense but its very annoying.

Has anybody seen this before.

Are there certain glasses that one should avoid when flying?
I tried the progressives and after the first flight I had to replace the lens with executive bifocals. I found myself having to move my head too much to focus
on the gauges. Felt like I had tunnel vision.

The bifocals work great!
Thanks for the info.

The glasses I have are not polarized - at least I didnt ask for them to be.

FL510,

Thanks for the feedback.

Are executive bifocals available in oakley or ray ban etc?
Quote: The glasses I have are not polarized - at least I didnt ask for them to be.