DoD SkillBridge and Career Skills Program

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2019, 11:34 AM
On Reserve

Joined APC: Feb 2019
Default DoD SkillBridge and Career Skills Program

https://dodskillbridge.usalearning.gov/index.htm

https://www.afpc.af.mil/Separation/CSP/

Anyone have any experience/success utilizing the DoD SkillBridge program for getting advanced pilot ratings (Instrument, Commercial, CFI, ATP, etc) as well as working as a CFI or some other commercial effort to build hours towards ATP minimums? I'm just getting started with the retirement process (TAP next week).

Thanks,

Phlyfan9
Old 09-13-2019, 08:31 AM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Nov 2016
Position: CRJ FO

Originally Posted by Phlyfan9 View Post
https://dodskillbridge.usalearning.gov/index.htm

https://www.afpc.af.mil/Separation/CSP/

Anyone have any experience/success utilizing the DoD SkillBridge program for getting advanced pilot ratings (Instrument, Commercial, CFI, ATP, etc) as well as working as a CFI or some other commercial effort to build hours towards ATP minimums? I'm just getting started with the retirement process (TAP next week).

Thanks,

Phlyfan9
I bleed blue, but officially retired from the Army, so it is redundant to say my process was much more difficult!

I searched my old emails/data to find my SkillBridge information but came up empty. During my TAP experience, several local companies briefed opportunities available in the area which were well established and easily approved. However, I attempted something along the lines of your question instead. Per my local TAP office, I had to provide a program outline for the specific request I was trying to create. I was able to get a tentative outline approved by the TAP office and the airline, but was never able to get the chosen flight school on board with approving the document for final submission. Unfortunately I was limited to a specific flight school due to the relationship with the company I received a CJO from.