Flight Schools and Training Ratings, building hours, airmanship, CFI topics

Logging Time

Old 09-13-2008, 10:13 PM
Line Holder

Joined APC: Jul 2008
Default Logging Time

Hello,

I have a bunch of questions about logging time ... so here we go:

1) I'm an IFR student, and the new school I transfered to has an Elite RC-1 FTD. The CFI logged my flight today the exact way you will log a regular flight (including approaches, landings, and ASEL and TOTAL TIME) the only difference is that he also put Sim Time. The sim is brand new ... and they didn't have that much experience with it ... so my question is the following:

How should I log sim time?

2) He mentioned that is possible for me to do cross countries in the sim (to satisfy the 50h requirement) ... is that possible?

3) Can you log both dual and PIC at the same time? My previous flight instructor didn't do that ... he only logged dual time not PIC time for our IFR lessons.

4) I can do 20 hours worth of training for my IFR in the sim ... 20 hours of doing what? What are the limitations?
Old 09-14-2008, 12:35 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2007
Position: Forever commuting

1) FTD time should only be logged as simulator and dual received, plus the approaches. No total time, no ASEL, no landings, no simulated (hood) instrument. Fix it now, save yourself from headache later.

2) I'm pretty sure FTD time doesn't count as cross country.

3) Yes you can have both so long as you are the sole manipulator of the controls in an aircraft for which you are rated.

4) Check the reg's but it should say something like: 20 hours in a simulator may be used to satisfy the requirements of 61.XX(y) (aeronautical experience). Find the reg, and it shall spell out what you can work on. It should include all the standard instrument stuff: IR maneuvers, approaches, holds, full/partial panel stuff, etc.

Best of luck on the instrument rating.
Old 09-14-2008, 05:58 AM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2007